Album Review: LFTP Season Vol.1 – 3Bubble & J.Gray

Live From The Pentagon collective (LFTP), 3Bubble and J. Gray drops a Christmas gift, coming in the form of their forthcoming album, ‘LFTP Season Vol.1’

The hip-hop duo from Houston, Texas adopted a chilled vibe for the nine-track collection, featuring familiar sounds of soulful R&B coupled with equally vibed-out vocals and some on-the-spot freestyling during the studio sessions.

The hypnotic presence of saxophone introduces the album through track ‘Vibin’, where J.Gray exchanges his usual on-point delivery for rich soulful vocals, adding an old-school sensation to the three-minute production.

‘LFTP Season Vol.1′ gains momentum with ‘Boats Etc’, which boasts an electrifying trap/hip-hop combo’. ‘LFTP Squad’ keeps the tempo to the max, with the pair’s lightning flow seamlessly flying over some classic hip-hop-esque bars, with the help of fellow emcees RAGS and King Kelechi.

Returning to the laid-back arrangements, with soul-hitting lyrics, ‘Leave Me Now’, documents the guy’s experience of loneliness and jealousy among friends, while trying to make it as successful recording artists.

‘LFTP Season Vol.1’ follows their 2016 album, ‘Pentagon Memoirs’, which generated support from music tastemakers including Time (hip-hop) magazine, Obscure Sound, Skope magazine, Paste Magazine and Vents magazine.

‘LFTP Season Vol. 1’ is available from 25th December from on all major music download sites. Check out the video for lead single, ‘Vibin’.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s